R is for….Re-post!

22 Apr

Hey, today has been a wild crazy day with multiple doctor appointments. The upshot is I’m exhausted and not feeling my best. So for your enjoyment I’m sharing two articles that I liked a lot today.

Even when I went on sabbatical I kept up with certain trade journals and blogs. Even when I wasn’t writing or working actively in the industry that had a way of making me feel connected to what’s going on in the world around me. And also inspired me to keep trying so someday I could plunge right back into that world, ready to work.

Now that I’m cautiously returning, I’m really glad I did. Anyway, here’s my two blog posts from today that I enjoyed most:

1. Steve Laube is one of the most respected agents in the Christian Publishing Industry. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and talking to him several times. If you ever get a chance to listen to him teach at a Writer’s Conference, I guarantee you’ll come away with information sure to help in your writing career. I have nothing but great admiration for him, and honestly I went into the agent biz because of him. Steve, you’re AWESOME!

Today he wrote about trends and whether to follow them or not. It went well with Mike’s blog (which I’ll tell you about in a moment) because I felt that this blog was a challenge to all writers to bring their best game to the table.

Cover Bands Don’t Change the World

 

Subterranea

2. Mike Duran is a writer who’s not afraid to take on the edgy and controversial – in his writing and on his blogs. I love reading what he has to say. Today he gives what I thought was some pretty interesting (and sound) advice about self-publishing. (and he’s got some of the best covers I’ve ever seen. Check out the picture above!)

And don’t get me wrong, I’m not against self publishing in the least. But DO DO DO hone your craft and publish only the very best. Which is the point I feel he is making here.

Self Publishing as a “Principled” Cop-Out

That’s it for this time folks. Hey to keep this fun, if you have a blog entry you are particularly proud of, post it in the comments for all of us to enjoy. Let’s keep the reposting craze going!

Leave a Reply

