Still….at rest…

3 Mar

Well, it’s after March 1st, my self-imposed deadline for this sabbatical I started back in December. I’d like to say that everything is better, but it’s not. The problems I had with inflammation have improved, but a lot of the pain and weakness are coming from another illness that I seem to have developed in this last year.

No diagnosis as of yet, but it’s looking like Lupus, something that isn’t anywhere near as fun as it sounds (c’mon, admit it, you were thinking about werewolves too, weren’t you…)

So. Work?

Not really. Small doses, little amounts certainly. It’s past time for me to stagger forward and attempt some semblance of normal life. Will I ever go back to work full time? My doctors say probably not. That in fact I’ll most likely be working a couple of weeks and then having a couple of weeks off, back and forth like that. Because I will need to rest and recover.

And of course, having been so quiet the last three months have made me very very weak.

So where does that leave me?

Still at rest. Still reading and resting and spending most of my time in bed. Getting up occasionally and getting work done as I can. Not feeling bad about curling up under the blankets and just resting for the remainder of the time.

This is an adjustment, but it’s part of living with auto-immune disorders. The diseases are real and not going away.

But I’m doing the best I can with them.

2 Responses to “Still….at rest…”

  1. Lelia Rose Foreman (@LeliaForeman) March 5, 2013 at 11:41 am #

    During my bout with lupus, I learned that I needed to exercise my shoulders (reaching as far forward as possible, pushing back so shoulder blades almost touch) or else I got neck spasms. You can do that in bed. It is discouraging to be weak. But when we are weak….

  2. Gospel Restoration March 5, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    “Sabbatical” sounds positive. I hope you’ll continue to find answers for your symptoms and energy to get whatever done that needs doing.

Leave a Reply

