The sweater is done!

21 Jan

I posted recently about the sweater that never got finished…well I pressed on after posting that, one row at a time sometimes. Over the weekend I finally finished knitting the pieces and even got it all sewed together.

I’m pretty proud of myself. I haven’t made a sweater in forever, and this one took me WAAAAY too long to do.

The thing is, I used the excuse many times over of not having time to knit. Or not feeling well enough to knit. But I wasn’t feeling good over the weekend. At all. In fact, I made the goal to knit JUST ONE ROW and then rest for awhile and not touch it again for a bit.

Committing to “just one row” made all the difference.

You see, if you don’t pick up the needles, I can guarantee it’s not going to get done. But even just doing a few stitches every day…got it finished.

I’m not going to belabor the point or hit you over the head with my needles to get you to see it. I think the lesson is pretty clear.

Let’s not give up today, ok? Whatever it is we’re facing let’s take it one step at a time.

As Red Green says, “Remember, I’m pulling for ya. We’re all in this together!”

3 Responses to “The sweater is done!”

  1. knittingkat January 21, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    I’ve been trying to get at least a row or two done a day too, and it really is a great way to make progress when nothing would be done otherwise!
    I had to comment out of love for Red Green though! That is one of my favorite shows!
    Kat

  2. Jennifer Olivarez January 21, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Congratulations! I actually have two unfinished sweaters sitting in a basket at home. You’ve inspired me to get back to them. You’re so right… all it takes is one row at a time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coughing (optional) « Life at Rest - February 1, 2013

    […] quietly in bed like a good girl and do nothing at all more strenuous than a little crochet or knit (wait until you see what I’ve been making next – a post for tomorrow?) then I’m fine. Or mostly fine. Or at least breathing like a normal […]

Leave a Reply

