10 Minutes to Success

10 Jan

On bad days I become very conscious of small things.

Today as I lay in bed, feeling every bit of pressure change of an approaching storm, I contemplated what I could accomplish. That’s the problem with being a somewhat…er…DRIVEN individual. I don’t handle sabbaticals well and need to still be able to say at the end of the day that I did something worthwhile.

Lacking much energy (read that as NONE) my list of options was a little slim. I could read but I was doing that every day. A nap doesn’t feel like much of an accomplishment. And brushing my teeth as the day’s accomplishment feels slightly…er…pathetic?

I opted for changing the sheets on the bed.

(Who knew this was a competitive sport?)

It’s funny how much pleasure we get from such small things. In warmer weather sheets are hung outside on the clothesline which makes them smell so wonderfully of fresh air and sunshine when you snap them open and let them drap delicately down on the bed.

OK, that’s a bit of fantasy on my part. I never could get my sheets to behave the way they do in laundry detergent commercials. Why can’t mine just fall neatly into place?

Regardless, fresh sheets have a niceness to them. They feel crisp when you lay down again. New.

I put off the task because it seems like so much work. A queen-sized bed in a small bedroom takes a little maneuvering around, and to be honest the ache in my body kept telling me to put it off once again.

Yet it only takes ten minutes to have a bed completed. New pillowcases upon which to rest my head. Blankets re-arranged and re-tucked so that feet wandering in the night aren’t going to wind up in the cold. Ten minutes to a blissful night’s sleep.

An accomplishment after all.

Now in better days I might have ironed the pillowcases. I know that’s been argued against as not necessary at least in my household, but I grew up ironing sheets and pillowcases. It’s a blissful thing to sleep upon if you’ve never tried it. I might just indulge in that bit of luxury the next time the weather clears and I’m feeling stronger. In the meantime though, I’m holding up this simple task as my accomplishment for the day. Something to be proud of.

And something to enjoy all night through.

Leave a Reply

