So I’m supposed to be QUIET…

31 Dec

I hate introductory posts. Instead of the random biography thing, I’m going to assume that you’re here because you know me somehow and don’t need all the gory details – the fibromyalgia, my heart, that little thing where I had to quit working for the next several months while I try to regain my health…

Yeah that. Sounds kind of tedious, doesn’t it?

Instead I’m inviting you to pull up a comfy cushion or three, enjoy the hot chocolate and snowflakes drifting past my bedroom window as we sit down to talk, you and I. Because while I’m not PHYSICALLY active anymore, I certainly have found ways to occupy my mind and even occasionally my hands. I’m hoping that we can enjoy one another’s company and perhaps spend a good time relaxing together.

My goals for this blog are simple. I will talk about the books I’m reading, the projects I use to occupy my time, and the things I’m thinking about. No real rhyme or reason on the latter, just chatter. One day I might talk about the crochet pattern I recently discovered, the next my latest attempt to educate myself by reading the encyclopedia (see if I don’t, I have the time…)

So maybe this whole thing is a little bit random. But this rest isn’t a full stop (to go into musical terminology) but instead more of a pause to let the fullness of the notes surrounding to sink in better. A whole rest perhaps, lasting the beats of this measure.

What do you think? Shall we sit down together and enjoy one another’s company? There are, after all, different levels to ‘quiet’ and still quite a bit of fun to be had….

6 Responses to “So I’m supposed to be QUIET…”

  1. heididrukortman January 1, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    I remember Cherry Ames. I’ve heard that there are more stories in the series, though I’ve only read this one.

    Another book to consider, if you haven’t found it already, is The Unexpected Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

    • Kristine Pratt January 1, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      I just surprised myself a little by looking up Cherry Ames. I have about a dozen of the books but never knew until now there were 27 in the series! Time to hunt online for the rest?

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherry_Ames

      I’ll look up the “The Unexpected Pilgrimage of Harold Fry” as I haven’t heard that one before. Thank you for the suggestion!

  2. patti shene January 1, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Sure, I’m in! Happy New Year!

    • Kristine Pratt January 1, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Thanks, Patti! Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Normandie January 1, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    K, you know I always love a good chat with you! Be well, my friend. And if this is how we’ll finally get more words out of you, so be it. Perhaps you might consider serializing one of your stories on a page here? I mean, you’d have plenty of time to edit it!

    • Kristine Pratt January 1, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      Ah Normandie, you’re always dying to get your hands on my stories. 🙂 To be honest, writing is one of my goals in the New Year. I might post some creative things over here yet. We’ll see where this blog meanders.

Leave a Reply

